Award Nominations

Call For Nominations

Spread the word! Email a PDF of this announcement along!

The North Carolina Folklore Awards program supports the work of individuals and groups that contribute to the transmission and appreciation of cultural traditions in our state. The program also encourages the study and presentation of state folklife.

The Brown-Hudson Award

The Society’s Brown-Hudson Folklore Awards recognize persons who have contributed in a special way to the appreciation of North Carolina folklife. The Brown-Hudson Folklore Award was established in 1970 to honor two distinguished folklorists and officers of the North Carolina Folklore Society, Frank C. Brown of Duke University and Arthur Palmer Hudson of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Both had served as the Society’s Secretary-Treasurer, Dr. Brown from 1913 to 1944 and Dr. Hudson from 1945 to 1966. Dr. Hudson was also the founder and editor until 1966 of North Carolina Folklore.

The North Carolina Folklore Society presents the Brown-Hudson Folklore Awards to persons who have in special ways contributed to the appreciation, continuation, or study of North Carolina folk traditions. Past recipients include playwright Paul Green, quilters Lillie Lee and Jennie Burnett, potters Nell Cole Graves and Burlon Craig, teachers Cratis Williams and Charles G. Zug, musicians Doc and Merle Watson, Etta Baker, and Tommy Jarrell, writers Richard Walser and John Parris, and folklife advocates Millie Blankenship and George Holt. Click here to nominate someone.

The Community Traditions Award

Our Community Traditions Award recognizes the contributions of a group or organization to the continuation and appreciation of state folklife.

The Brown-Hudson Folklore Awards and the Community Traditions Award are presented each year at the annual conference of the North Carolina Folklore Society. Please visit  here  for information about our upcoming conference. Click here to nominate a group or organization for the Community Traditions Award.

Completed nominations must be received by 5:00 PM on Monday September 15th, 2014.

To nominate persons or organizations for these awards, send a completed nomination form and supporting materials to:

Trista Porter
101 Hillview St. Apt. 2
Carrboro, NC 27510

Please contact Trista Porter with any questions.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

%d bloggers like this: